Kerry kings and Mayo relegated for the first time in 23 years:60 second Division 1 round-up

By Conor Martin

Credit: GAA League tables

Kerry were crowned champions on Saturday when they beat a Donegal side that was resting a few big names ahead of their Ulster Championship clash with Tyrone. David Clifford lead from the front as Kerry claimed an impressive 14 point win over the visitors.

Five in a row All-Ireland Champions Dublin were six-point winners over Galway as they put on a more recognisable Dublin performance and the boys from the capital will looking to carry on their fine performance come championship this year.

Monaghan’s final day draw to relegated Meath was enough for them to ensure final day survival.

The draw meant Mayo were the second team to fall through the trapdoor into division 2. Mayo early on were not at the races at all following on from their thrashing of Galway. But a late charge saw them fight back and by the time the referee blew his whistle on Sunday the difference between the two sides was a single point, condemning Mayo to Division 2 for the first time in 23 years. Leaving James Horan and his players with a reality check going into the Connacht Championship.

Division 1 final day results

Kerry 2-18 Donegal 0-10

Monaghan 2-14 Meath 1-17

Mayo 1-19 Tyrone 3-14

Galway 0-15 Dublin 2-15

Related articles

You may also be interested in