Toulestrane make it five in a row Sligo senior football titles

Homeland SFC Final 

Tourlestrane                   1-14 

Drumcliffe Rosses Point 1-11

By Gavin Cawley

At Markievicz Park 

Tourlestrane made history on Sunday as they made it five in row Owen B Hunt Cups as they proved too strong for Drumcliffe Rosses Point who were in first senior county final. 

Drumcliffe started brightly as they opened the scoring with a free dead ball specialist Paul Logan. 

Tourlestrane soon found there feet as they would take a 3-1 lead after nine minutes Kenny Gavigan with opening score for his side after Gary Gaughan was nearly in on goal before ball came to Gavigan. 

Pat Harte and Liam Gaughan ensured they lead by two points. Three further points had Tourlestrane in complete control at the water break and there were fears for Drumcliffe Rosses Point at that stage. 

Drumcliffe to there credit worked very hard in the second quarter and would out score the south Sligo men 3-1 with all three points coming from the boot of Logan the last of which was last score of the half which was only score they scored from play in opening half which canceled out Harte’s second point of the half to leave the score at the break 7-4. 

 Just like the semi final Tourlestrane had some very wasteful chances as they kicked seven wides in the opening half and would have felt at the break and they hope they wouldn’t rue them chances. 

Free from Liam Gaughan put four between the sides once again before Westmeath native Kieran Lynam replied with point for Drumcliffe and this was followed by hard working Brian Monaghan to bring his side back two points. 

Liam Gaughan once again like on number of occasions last of couple of seasons ensured his side held a three point lead as he pointed from play to lead 9-6. 

Drumcliffe were not going away and free from Logan was followed by massive point from Sean Power to leave the match in the balance 9-8 after 42 minutes. 

Minute later James Leonard showed why he is captain as showed his leadership skills to put two between the sides but free from distance from Logan ensured the score at the water break was 10-9 in favour of south Sligo men. 

Oisin Kennedy and Gaughan both scored leave three between the sides once again as seemed every time Drumcliffe would get within a point Tourlestrane could up there level. 

53 minute point from Power his second of the half would kept them in touch but he would put to be the villain minute later as counter attack which saw Power pull down Liam Gaughan and resulted in penalty which former Mayo player Pat Harte sent Donegal and Drumcliffe goalkeeper Paul Durcan the wrong way. 

Drumcliffe trailing by five points now responded with goal of there own minute later yet again there was Mayo connection with goal as Power went for point the ball landed short and Sean Waldron flicked the ball to the net but unfortunately for the former Davitt’s man he was forced off with injury while scoring the goal. 

Free from Logan left exciting finish in store but two points from Gaughan ensured they would come away with there fifth title in a row. 

The win rounded off excellent weekend for Tourlestrane as they won the Junior A title on Saturday evening.

Player of the match Pat Harte 

Tourlestrane: Adam Broe, Noel Gaughan, Barry Walsh, Cian Surlis, Oisin Kennedy(0-1), Adrian McIntyre, Kevin O’Hara, Stephen Henry, Pat Harte(1-2,1-0 pen), Conan Marren(0-1), John Kelly(0-2), Kenny Gavigan(0-1), Liam Gaughan(0-6,3fs), Gary Gaughan, James Leonard(0-1) Subs used: John Francis Carr for Cian Surlis, 46; Rian Kennedy for Kenny Gavigan, 57; John Marren for Oisin Kennedy, 60+2; Rian Bailey for Pat Harte, 60+2

Drumcliffe-Rosses Point: Paul Durcan, Steven Regan, Ciaran McLoughlin, Jude McGarry, Sean Power(0-2), Neil Ewing, John McGowan, Brian Monaghan(0-1), Sean Waldron (1-0), Cian McBride, Cian Lally, NIall Canning, Kieran Lynam(0-1), Niall Colleary, Paul Logan (0-7, 6f) Subs used: Aaron McCormack for Cian McBride, h-t; Eoin Gaughan for Kieran Lynam, 51; Mark Horkan for Brian Monaghan, 52; Brian Monaghan for Sean Waldron, 58; Oisin O’Reilly for Brian Monaghan, 58 

Referee: Gus Chapman

Related articles

You may also be interested in